Voting in the 2023 Mojaloop Community Governance Elections is now closed, and we’re excited to share the results. Elections were held for the Community Council, which is the representative governing body of the Mojaloop community, the Design Authority, which guides the technical implementation of the Mojaloop Open Source Codebase, and the Change Control Board (CCB), which governs changes and maintains the Mojaloop family of APIs.

First up, the Community Council is responsible for the development and implementation of strategic targets for the community and the resolution of potential conflicts. Members of the Community Council serve one-year terms and can be re-elected once. The newly elected representatives are:

  1. Alain Kajangwe, CEO, WiredIn
  2. Aung Thaw Aye, CTO, ThitsaWorks
  3. Elijah Okello, CTO, Alfajiri
  4. Johan Foley, Team Lead, Sybrin
  5. Kim Walters, Senior Managing Director, Crosslake Technologies
  6. Michael Richards, Financial Services Principal, INFITX
  7. Min Tha Gyaw, Chief Strategy Officer, ThitsaWorks
  8. Reica Rampersadh, Director of Programs, FRMS Center of Excellence
  9. Sridevi Miriyala, Quality Assurance Lead, INFITX

Moving on, the Design Authority provides technical oversight for the Mojaloop community, thought leadership on technical issues and assistance resolving technical disputes and reviewing technological/stack proposals, among other things. Members of the Design Authority serve for one year. The newly elected representatives are:

  1. Aung Thaw Aye, CTO, ThitsaWorks
  2. Karim Jindani, Co-Founder and CEO, Paysys Labs
  3. Michael Richards, Financial Services Principal, INFITX
  4. Paul Baker, Engineering Manager, INFITX
  5. Vijay Kumar Guthi, Sr. Software Engineer, INFITX

Finally, the Change Control Board drives wider adoption of the Mojaloop Specification. The group is tasked with improving clarity and promoting uniformity of implementations, balancing existing implementations and changes and driving down implementation and maintenance costs. The CCB is also responsible for safeguarding the Mojaloop family of API specifications so that it upholds the Level One Principles. This year’s rapporteur, re-elected from last year, is:

  1. Rapporteur – Michael Richards, Financial Services Principal, INFITX

The Mojaloop Foundation would like to send a big thank you to all departing representatives for your service over the last year as well as extend a warm welcome to the newly elected officials. We look forward to seeing all you achieve in the year to come. Outgoing representatives will be transferring responsibilities between November 30th and December 8th, and all new representatives will commence their terms starting Monday, December 11th.

To learn more about the qualifications for each position above, as well as the nomination and election process, check out our recent post.

Connect with us here to join the Mojaloop community and learn more about how you can make an impact. Be sure to follow the Mojaloop Foundation on YouTubeTwitterLinkedIn and Facebook for all the latest.